2018 Coaching and Pre Season Training Announcement

By December 18, 2017 Uncategorized No Comments

On the back of 2017’s extraordinary and historic season the Western Knights Soccer Club have been just as busy in the off season as they aim to not only repeat the double winning season but to create more history, especially as the club celebrates it’s 50th Anniversary in 2018, and the 20th anniversary of the club’s first ever Title Winning Season in 1998.

The club is delighted to have 2017 Football West Coach of the Year Trim Morgan lead the club once again as Head Coach. Now in his third year as charge, Trim has returned the club into one of the State’s most powerful teams, a club demanding of success. Joining him as his Assistant is our very own Ivan Zuvela, who comes into the coaching arena after a highly distinguished playing career with the Western Knights.

Both Trim and Ivan are qualified FFA B Class Coaches and are highly respected by the committee, players, and WA soccer community.

The reserves and Under 18s teams have held trials with coaches Wayne Thorpe and Chris La Macchia.

Trim’s assistant last year, Mano Psanodoukis, stays with the club as he takes on the Technical Director role, to develop and build on the club’s Juniors. Stay tuned for more news in that area very soon!

Preseason Training starts on Saturday 6th January 2018 with an open training session at Nash Field, beginning at 10am. The club welcomes all existing first team and reserves players, as well as players interested in joining our club to come down to Nash Field for this first session. For further information, Trim can be contacted on 0424 333 004 or trimmorgan@gmail.com

Full Pre Season Training Schedule as follows:

Session Date Venue Time
1 Saturday 6th Jan Nash Field (Open session)

1st team & reserves.

10am
2 Tuesday 9th Jan Lake Monger. Meet at Lake Monger Rec club, Gregory St.

2 x 3.27km runs ( 5 min rest between sets). Hill sprints. Core.

6.30pm
3 Thursday 11th Jan Nash Field 6.30pm
4 Saturday 13th Jan 1sts vs Reserves 9am ko
5 Tuesday 16th Jan Lake Monger. Meet at Lake Monger Rec club, Gregory St.

2 x 3.27km runs (5 min rest between sets). Hill sprints. Core.

6.30pm
6 Thursday 18th Jan Nash Field 6.30pm
7 Saturday 20th Jan Friendly vs Subiaco. Rosalie Park, Shenton Park. 1st team- 9am ko, Reserves- 11am ko.
8 Tuesday 23rd Jan Bold Park– Zamia Trail

5km run x 2. Meet at car park off Scenic Drive, City Beach

6.30pm
9 Thursday 25th Jan Nash Field 6.30pm
10 Saturday 27th Jan Friendly vs Morley (away). TBC
11 Tuesday 30th Jan Bold Park– Zamia Trail

5km run x 2. Meet at car park off Scenic Drive, City Beach.

6.30pm
12 Thursday 1st Feb Nash Field 6.30pm
13 Saturday 3rd Feb Friendly: Reserves vs Balga (home)

Friendly: 1st team vs Bayswater (away)

Reserves- 9.30am ko

1st team- 9.30am ko.

14 Tuesday 6th Feb Nash Field 6.30pm
15 Thursday 8th Feb

 

Nash Field 6.30pm
  Friday 9th Feb/

Saturday 10th Feb

Night Series- Round 1 TBC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Junior Registrations now Open for 2018